Home Elections Who’s the New TMSU President? For Now, No One

Who’s the New TMSU President? For Now, No One

Team Revolt wins all remaining executive positions

by Trevor Carter
Outside of the Toronto Metropolitan Students' Union Building.
Marina Gerges will not be re-elected for the 2023-24 term after failing to receive over 50 per cent “yes” votes. Toronto Metropolitan Students’ Union Building on March 23, 2023. (Trevor Carter/On the Record)
Listen to the story here

Toronto Metropolitan Students’ Union president Marina Gerges lost a Yes/No vote over whether she would reclaim the position after running uncontested in the 2023 election.

On March 21, the Eyeopener reported that Gerges alleged she was set up “to be caught drinking and driving,” 13 days into her term as TMSU president. An email from an undisclosed sender, sent to several TMU students, made the allegations. Gerges responded to in two Instagram videos.

“I’m not surprised by the results, with controversies as severe as drunk driving allegations I can understand why students were hesitant to re-elect Marina,” said Kassidy Mattera, a fourth-year media production student.

Team Revolt candidates won all of the remaining executive positions. Revolt member Mahira Shoaib was elected vice president operations, Abeeha Ahmad for vice president education, Trevohn Baker for vice president equity, and Kareena Bhatia won the race for vice president student life.

Four students running against Gerges were previously rendered “ineligible” after failing to meet the TMSU’s candidate eligibility requirements, such as not receiving enough nomination signatures. 

The election’s final days came with many demerit points being deducted from multiple candidates for breaking TMSU election bylaws.

Vice president equity candidate Aya Bakir was deducted 15 points for cross-campaigning, by endorsing four candidates on the same webpage.

Team Ignite received eight demerit points for posting a video on its Instagram page without the #TMSUVotes hashtag, according to a March 24 ruling released by Chief Returning Officer (CRO) Adrian Aziz. Team Ignite claims that they did use the required hashtag, and will be filing an appeal.

Candidates have until March 26 at 10 p.m. to appeal the results, as per section of the TMSU Election Procedure Code.

Gerges will remain president until the end of her term on April 30, 2023.

This story is developing.

This article may have been created with the use of AI software such as Google Docs, Grammarly, and/or Otter.ai for transcription.

You may also like